8. Committees

This report provides details of the FY2021 activities of the committees related to Usage Promotion Services of JASRI as a Registered Institution for Facilities Use Promotion (hereafter, Registered Institution) among the activities of SPring-8 and SACLA committees.

1. SPring-8

1-1. Committee overview

In accordance with the provision of Article 16 of the Act for the Promotion of Public Utilization of Specific Advanced Large Research Facilities (Act No. 78 of 1994; hereafter, Public Utilization Act), the Registered Institution established the SPring-8 Selection Committee and held meetings to solicit feedback about User Selection Services of JASRI. Moreover, the following committees were established and held meetings so that the president of JASRI can select proposals as the representative of the Registered Institution: (a) SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee for reviewing research proposals, (b) Contract Beamline Committee for reviewing contract beamlines, (c) Partner User Review Committee for reviewing Partner Users, (d) **Epoch-Making** Initiatives **Projects** Review Committee for reviewing research groups for Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects, (e) Long Term Graduate Student Proposal Review Committee for reviewing Long Term Graduate Student Proposals and (f) SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review Committee for examining matters related to the publication of research results.

1-2. Committee meetings

Committee meetings were held as follows:

34th SPring-8 Selection Committee Meeting
[Date] August 2, 2021
[Location or method] Online meeting

35th SPring-8 Selection Committee Meeting
[Date] February 8, 2022
[Location or method] Online meeting

34th SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee Meeting

[Date] July 20, 2021

[Location or method] SPring-8 and Online meeting

35th SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee Meeting

[Date] January 31, 2022

[Location or method] SPring-8 and Online meeting

33rd Contract Beamline Committee Meeting [Date] June 1, 2021

[Location or method] SPring-8 and Online meeting

34th Contract Beamline Committee Meeting

[Date] November 2, 2021

[Location or method] SPring-8 and Online meeting

21st Partner User Review Committee Meeting
[Date] June 16, 2021
[Location or method] Online meeting

22nd Partner User Review Committee Meeting

SPring-8/SACLA Annual Report FY2021

[Date] December 13, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

[Location or method] Online meeting

1-3. Committee members as of March 31, 2022

13th Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects Review

Committee Meeting

[Date] July 13-29, 2021

[Location or method] Deliberation by e-mail

14th Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects Review

Committee Meeting

[Date] December 10, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

1st Long Term Graduate Student Proposal Review Committee

[Date] December 23, 2021

[Location or method] SPring-8 and Online meeting

2nd Long Term Graduate Student Proposal Review

Committee

[Date] January 18, 2022

[Location or method] Online meeting

3rd Long Term Graduate Student Proposal Review Committee

[Date] February 8, 2022

[Location or method] Online meeting

20th SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review

Committee Meeting

[Date] July 29, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

21st SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review

Committee Meeting

[Date] December 10, 2021

FY2021–2022 SPring-8 Selection Committee

(Chair)

Nomura Masaharu

Professor Emeritus, High Energy Accelerator

Research Organization

(Deputy Chair)

Fujiwara Akihiko

Professor, Kwansei Gakuin University

(Members)

Adachi Shinichi

Executive Director, High Energy Accelerator

Research Organization

Utsumi Wataru

Director, Institute for Advanced Synchrotron

Light Source, National Institutes for Quantum

and Radiological Science and Technology

Kanaya Toshiji

Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University

Kamimura Midori

Research Manager, TEIJIN PHARMA LIMITED

Kishimoto Hiroyuki

Head of Chemical Analysis Center, Chemical

Analysis Center Research & Development HQ,

Sumitomo Rubber Industries

Kimura Akio

Professor, Hiroshima University

Shibayama Mitsuhiro

Director, Neutron Science and Technology

Center

Shimakawa Yuichi

Professor, Kyoto University

Seno Yoshiki

Director, Kyushu Synchrotron Light Research

Center

SPring-8/SACLA Annual Report FY2021

Takeda Yoshikazu

Director, Aichi Synchrotron Radiation Center Tsukihara Tomitake

Specially Appointed Professor, University of Hyogo

Yamagata Yuriko

President, Shokei University, Shokei University Junior College

2. SACLA

2-1. Committee overview

In accordance with the provision of Article 16 of the Public Utilization Act, the Registered Institution established the SACLA Selection Committee and held meetings to solicit feedback about the User Selection Services of JASRI. Moreover, the SACLA Proposal Review Committee was established and held meetings to review research proposals so that the president of JASRI can select proposals as the representative of the Registered Institution.

The activities of the committees related to Usage Promotion Services of both SACLA and SPring-8 include (a) SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review Committee for examining matters related to the publication of research results and (b) Committee for Reviewing Research Activities as Registered Institution for Facilities Use Promotion, which was established by JASRI as a Registered Institution, for reviewing activities on Research Utilizing Facilities in accordance with Article 12 of the Public Utilization Act.

2-2. Committee meetings

Committee meetings were held as follows:

24th SACLA Selection Committee Meeting

[Date] July 29, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

25th SACLA Selection Committee Meeting

[Date] December 24, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

21st SACLA Proposal Review Committee Meeting

[Date] July 7, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

22nd SACLA Proposal Review Committee Meeting

[Date] December 15, 2021

[Location or method] Online meeting

2-3. Committee members as of March 31, 2022

(Chair)

Nakagawa Atsushi

Director and Professor, Institute for Protein

Research, Osaka University

(Deputy Chair)

Yoneda Hitoki

Professor,

The University of Electro-Communications

(Members)

Iwai Shinichiro

Professor, Tohoku University

Kawachi Tetsuya

Director General, Kansai Photon Science Institute, National Institutes for Quantum and

Radiological Science and Technology

Kimura Tsuyoshi

Professor, The University of Tokyo

Sano Yuji

Program Manager, Institute for Molecular

Science

Takahashi Mizuki

SPring-8/SACLA Annual Report FY2021

Scientist, Daiichi Sankyo RD Novare Co., Ltd.

Nureki Osamu

Professor, The University of Tokyo

Yamashige Hisao

Project Manager,

TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

(Affiliations and titles are as of March 31, 2022)

User Administration Division, JASRI